Business Planning Course - University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

Business Planning Course

Future-proof your business

Micro and small businesses form the foundation of the Australian economy, employing approximately 44 percent of the Australian workforce and contributing around one-third of Australia's GDP. As approximately 97 percent of Australian organisations are categorised as micro and small businesses it is critical that this industry sector is supported in being successful.

The Business Planning Course is free and designed to provide local business owners with a clear understanding of the key factors that underpin their success and are critical to their long-term survival.

Participating in this course, comprised of a series of workshops, provides a platform for business owners to survive and thrive by adopting and implementing strategic management principles, thereby lowering the rate of business failure.

For businesses that are not located near a course delivery site, participants are welcome to join online, as per the below schedule. When registering, please choose the course with the most suitable dates.

Eligibility requirements

If your business employs fewer than 20 (full-time equivalent) staff and has been operating for at least 12 months, you are eligible to register for this series of workshops and we encourage you to take up this opportunity by registering now to participate.

Gain certification and credit

Participating in this course is a great way to experience what it is like to study at University and open up a pathway into a higher-level qualification. Upon completion of all modules and submission of assessment items, you will receive a USC Certificate of Completion and gain credit for one course in a USC postgraduate Business degree.

Course information

The content is delivered as workshops within this free, short course. The weekly schedule includes the development of a customised business plan that is suitably developed for sourcing funds from banks, investors or can be leveraged for grant applications. At the conclusion of the workshops there will be an opportunity for participants to present a 30-minute pitch to a panel of experts. Please note that minimum and maximum numbers may apply at each location.

Week 1: Overview of Small Business Management Principles

Week 2: Organisation and Industry Analysis

Week 3: Marketing Strategy and Business Structures

Week 4: Risk Management and Human Resource Strategy

Week 5: Financial Management

Week 6: Operating Plan and Action Plan 

Week 7: Preparing for the Pitch

Week 8: Pitch to Panel Presentations. 20-minute presentations by each participant to a panel of local business experts.

Week 1-7 are 90-minute workshops, followed by a 30-minute Q&A and networking session.

Schedule

Moreton Bay Business Planning Course 

Start Date: Tuesday 3 May – Tuesday 21 June 2022
Time: 9am–11am
Location: USC Caboolture

Week 1: Tuesday 3 May, 9-11am

Week 2: Tuesday 10 May, 9-11am

Week 3: Tuesday 17 May, 9-11am

Week 4: Tuesday 24 May, 9-11am

Week 5: Tuesday 31 May, 9-11am

Week 6: Tuesday 7 June, 9-11am

Week 7: Tuesday 14 June, 9-11am

Week 8/Pitches: Tuesday 21 June, 20 minute presentations

Sunshine Coast Business Planning Course

Dates: Tuesday 28 June – Tuesday 16 August 2022

Time: 9am–11am

Location: USC Sunshine Coast

Week 1: Tuesday 28 June, 9-11am

Week 2: Tuesday 5 July, 9-11am

Week 3: Tuesday 12 July, 9-11am

Week 4: Tuesday 19 July, 9-11am

Week 5: Tuesday 26 July, 9-11am

Week 6: Tuesday 2 August, 9-11am

Week 7: Tuesday 9 August, 9-11am

Week 8/Pitches: Tuesday 16 August, 20 minute presentations

Fraser Coast Business Planning Course

Dates: Tuesday 23 August – Tuesday 11 October 2022
Time: 9am-11am
Location: USC Fraser Coast

Week 1: Tuesday 23 August, 9-11am

Week 2: Tuesday 30 August, 9-11am

Week 3: Tuesday 6 September, 9-11am

Week 4: Tuesday 13 September, 9-11am

Week 5: Tuesday 20 September, 9-11am

Week 6: Tuesday 27 September, 9-11am

Week 7: Tuesday 4 October, 9-11am

Week 8/Pitches: Tuesday 11 October, 20 minute presentations

Gympie Business Planning Course

Dates: Thursday 25 August – Thursday 13 October 2022
Time: 9am-11am
Location: USC Gympie

Week 1: Thursday 25 August, 9-11am

Week 2: Thursday 1 September, 9-11am

Week 3: Thursday 8 September, 9-11am

Week 4: Thursday 15 September, 9-11am

Week 5: Thursday 22 September, 9-11am

Week 6: Thursday 29 September, 9-11am

Week 7: Thursday 6 October, 9-11am

Week 8/Pitches: Thursday 13 October, 20 minute presentations

REGISTER NOW

People chatting in workshop
Image taken at the Moreton Bay Business Planning Course Pilot
USC course to help future-proof small businesses

Small business owners and managers can learn how to future-proof their businesses by taking part in a short course offered by USC that focuses on developing strategies for sustainability and success.

USC helps small business owners plan for success

Small business owners and managers can learn how to future-proof their businesses by taking part in a short course offered by USC that focuses on developing strategies for sustainability and success.

Meet the presenter

Dr Wayne Graham is a Senior Lecturer in Management and has co-authored three case studies for an Australian textbook on strategic management, as well as presenting his research at national and international conferences.

In addition to his work in the higher education sector, Wayne has worked in the vocational education sector, the automotive industry and local government.

In 2018 Wayne received the Vice Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Learn more...