National Science Week – USC researchers available - University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

USC News

National Science Week – USC researchers available

13 Aug 2018

The University of the Sunshine Coast is brimming with great science – it’s changing the way we do food, tourism, development, healthcare, environmental protection and more.

Below are just a few of USC’s researchers available to discuss their work during National Science Week from 11 to 19 August:

Koalas: USC’s team of “Chlamydians” at USC are getting to the bottom of the horrible afflictions faced by our local koalas. The team is using microbiology to find solutions.

Contact: Martina Jelocnik: 07 5456 3585, 0401 726 510, martina.jelocnik@research.usc.edu.au

Tropical diseases: Adapting the basic pregnancy test for use to rapidly detect the presence of diseases, including Zika, Ross River, dengue, Barmah Forest and Ebola. Contact: Dr Joanne Macdonald, 07 5456 5944 or jmacdon1@usc.edu.au

Environmental monitoring:

Contact: Dr Javier Leon: 0413 090 821, 07 5456 3405, jleon@usc.edu.au

Galip nut industry: Using Australian knowledge to grow galip nuts for a new export industry in Papua New Guinea to help people out of poverty. The nuts will eventually be made available in Australia.

Contact: Professor Helen Wallace, 07 5430 2887 or hwallace@usc.edu.au

Adolescent Brains: Researchers are recruiting 500 12-year-olds in high school to be assessed several times a year for five years. The data will be used to inform the development of youth mental health intervention and support programs.

Contact Professor Dan Hermens, USC Sunshine Coast Mind and Neuroscience – Thompson Institute: d.hermens@usc.edu.au.

Killer starfish: Researchers are working on genome sequencing of the crown-of-thorns starfish to learn more about threats to conservation.

Contact: Associate Professor Scott Cummins, 07 5455 5501 or scummins@usc.edu.au

A comprehensive guide to USC’s current scientific research is available here.

A searchable database of researchers and their specialisations is available at USC Experts.

Media contact: Janelle Kirkland, 07 5459 4553, jkirklan@usc.edu.au.

Related articles

USC leads Australian study into exercise during pandemic
7 May

Health science experts from USC have been chosen to lead the Australian arm of a study into how physical activity levels have been affected by the global COVID-19 pandemic.

USC leads research on pandemic panic buying
21 Apr

USC psychology lecturers have launched a national research project investigating the behaviours that have led people to panic buy during the COVID-19 pandemic.

USC appoints new Dean to lead graduate research
7 Apr

A world-leader in human movement and motor neuroscience research has been appointed as the Dean of Graduate Research at USC Australia.

Contact the USC media team

Name Position Email Phone
Terry Walsh Manager, Media and Messaging twalsh@usc.edu.au +61 7 5430 1160
Janelle Kirkland Media Relations Coordinator jkirklan@usc.edu.au +61 7 5459 4553
Clare McKay Media Relations Officer (Regional) cmckay@usc.edu.au +61 7 5456 5669

Search results for

Recent news