Rotary USC Community Fund Postgraduate Scholarship - University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

Rotary USC Community Fund Postgraduate Scholarship

2019 Rotary Postgraduate Scholarship recipients: (L-R) Brittany Elliott, Kaylene Ballard, Elin Pollanen

Scholarships news

Student research supported by Rotary scholarships
14 Jun 2021

Three compelling USC student research projects spanning creative writing, biotechnology and molecular biology have each gained a $4,500 boost from the combined Rotary clubs of the Sunshine Coast.

Rotary Postgraduate Scholarship

The Rotary USC Community Fund (RUSCCF) was established in 1996-97 and first awarded in 2001 by the combined Rotary Clubs of the Sunshine Coast. Rotary Postgraduate Scholarships are awarded annually to students who have completed their undergraduate degree at USC and have enrolled and commenced postgraduate studies at either the Master or Doctorate levels at USC.

The RUSCCF Committee is made up of representatives from 17 Rotary clubs from Caloundra to Noosa. Each club is encouraged to make an annual contribution to the Fund at the RUSCCF Annual Joint Meeting and Dinner. To date, the combined clubs have contributed more than $210,000 to the Fund and have awarded 63 scholarships to USC students.

The Scholarships are valued at $4,500 each and three scholarships are awarded each year.

Contact Rotary USC Community Fund committee

Chair: Mr Ian Barnett 

Secretary: Ms Wendy Gilson 

2021 Rotary Postgraduate Scholarship recipients

Thomas Banks

Thomas completed a Bachelor of Science (Honours) at USC and has a keen interest in harnessing techniques to promote crustacean aquaculture. His research focuses on gene silencing, which uses natural biopolymers to specifically target and turn off (or silence) certain genes without permanently changing them. Thomas's current PhD project is based on trying to induce silencing on spiny lobsters.

Shannon Horsfall

Shannon is a published children's author, holds annual workshops with Qld Writers Centre and has been a presenter at various literary festivals. She was awarded the University Medal of Excellence at USC on completing her first class Honours (Creative Writing). Shannon is currently undertaking a PhD in Creative Writing at USC and her research endeavours to expose the problematic silencing of the child experience of domestic abuse.

Tomas Lang

Tomas has a background in molecular biology and his research has focused on molecular communication within multiple organisms with prospective applicability in the fields of regenerative medicine and restorative aquaculture. Tomas's current PhD research aims to provide an insight into the molecular basis of interactions between corals and seaweeds and how these interactions might be affected by climate change.

Rotary Postgraduate Scholarship alumni

  • Dylan Astley
  • Aaron Brunton
  • Cameron DeGraw
  • Brittany Elliott
  • Kaylene Ballard
  • Elin Pollanen
  • Andrew Allen
  • Makeely Blandford
  • Joanne Boon
  • Luke Hawley
  • Kaylet (Kye) McDonald
  • Ryan Newis
  • Lara Meital
  • Gail Loader
  • Rachele Wilson


  • Alessandra Whaite
  • Andrew Allen
  • Marion Brown
  • Karina Rune
  • Daniel Meloncelli
  • Bruce Randall
  • Eva Hatje
  • Benjamin Lane
  • Lauren Simmons
  • Jennifer Castell
  • Corinna Burgen-Maunder
  • Cathryn Morriss
  • Michael Gardiner
  • Danielle Formosa
  • Jacob Turner
  • Roslyn Clapperton
  • Lee-anne Bye
  • Clark Taylor
  • Kate Fitzgerald
  • Felicity Templeman
  • Katie Sutter
  • Jamila Rosdahl
  • Nubia Ramos
  • Wayne Graham


  • Michael Powell
  • Judy Wickes
  • Vikki Shaffer
  • Joanne Freeman
  • Greg Nash
  • Robert Lamont
  • Luke Keioskie
  • Vikki Schaffer
  • Rachel James
  • Stephen Tucker
  • Gai Van Hees
  • Maria Arena
  • Wayne Graham
  • Lindsay Cripps
  • Craig Hansen
  • Robert Glen
  • David Walton
  • Duncan Thompson
  • Helen Ison
  • Catherine Titheridge

Recognition of contributions

The following Clubs have been presented with plaques in recognition of their various levels of cumulative contributions to the Fund.


Cumulative contribution of $20,000

  • Rotary Club of Glasshouse Mountains 
  • Rotary Club of Mooloolaba
  • Rotary Club of Nambour

Cumulative contribution of $10,000

  • Rotary Club of Alexandra Headland
  • Rotary Club of Buderim
  • Rotary Club of Caloundra
  • Rotary Club of Caloundra Pacific 
  • Rotary Club of Kawana Waters 
  • Rotary Club of Maleny 
  • Rotary Club of Noosa Daybreak 

Cumulative contribution of $5,000

  • Rotary Club of Maroochydore

Cumulative contribution of $2,500

  • Rotary Club of Cooroy 
  • Rotary Club of Nambour '76