Committees of Council

Accessibility links

Committees of Council


Planning and Resources Committee

The role of the Planning and Resources Committee (PRC) is to recommend the strategic directions of the University to Council, in the context of development of the University’s plans and their resourcing strategies.

The Committee also provides advice to Council on issues arising from these plans. The key areas of concern to the Committee are planning and strategy, financial resources, asset management (including information technology) and human resources.

Members of the PRC include the Deputy Chancellor (who currently chairs the Committee), the Vice-Chancellor and President, the Director of the Centre for Support and Advancement of Learning and Teaching, four members with specific expertise in strategic financial management and planning and up to two members co-opted by the Chancellor.

The Chancellor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Chief Operating Officer and the Chief Financial Officer attend meetings. In addition the Directors of Asset Management Services, Capital and Commercial, and Human Resources attend meetings where appropriate.

Planning and Resources Committee Members

Deputy Chancellor

Mr Scott Williams AM (Chairperson)

Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Greg Hill

Member of the University Executive or Senior Staff, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor and President and appointed by Council

Dr Ruth Greenaway

Four members with expertise in strategic financial management and planning, at least one of whom must be a member of Council

Mr David Foster

Mr Christopher Harris

Mr Tim Rothwell

Mr Bernard Smith

Audit and Risk Management Committee

The Audit and Risk Management Committee (ARMC) has five major areas of responsibility:

  1. Monitoring internal control and risk management
  2. Monitoring of internal audit activities
  3. Monitoring of external audit activities
  4. Oversight and appraisal of financial reporting
  5. Oversight of any fraud or ethics issues

Membership consists of a minimum of four and a maximum of six persons and at least one member of Council.

At least one ARMC member must be a member of the professional accounting or audit bodies in Australia and have a professional accounting, management consultancy or audit background. At least one member should possess expertise within the education sector. Membership is approved by Council.

The initial term of office of members is a period not exceeding three years, and may be extended for further terms subject to the composition and skill requirements of the Committee.

Audit and Risk Management Committee Members

Member of Council

Ms Sandra Birkensleigh (Chairperson)

Member of the professional accounting bodies or audit bodies in Australia with a proffesional accounting, management consultancy or audit background

Mr Jeffrey Forbes

Mr Gary McLennan

Ms Natasha Read

Mr Phillip Strachan

Honorary Awards Committee

The Honorary Awards Committee seeks, considers and recommends to University Council nominations for honorary awards, in accordance with the University's Honorary Awards – Governing Policy.

The Committee’s membership comprises of the Chancellor or their nominee, the Vice-Chancellor and President, a member of Executive on Council, Planning and Resources Committee or Audit and Risk Management Committee (nominated by the Vice-Chancellor and President and appointed by Council) and up to three members of Council.

The Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee is a committee of Council, which was established in accordance with Council’s delegated authority under the University of the Sunshine Coast Act 1998. The purpose of the Committee is to:

  1. Act as a Search Committee for the role of Chancellor.
  2. Act as a Search Committee for members of Council and its Committees.
  3. Act as a Search Committee for the role of Vice-Chancellor and President (VCP).
  4. Conduct the VCP’s Annual Performance Review.

The Committee comprises of the Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor and President, Chairperson ARMC, Chairperson PRC and other members as required (appointed by Council on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee).

Back to top

Pro tip: To search, just start typing - at any time, on any page.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned more than {{ model.MaxResults }} results.
The top {{ model.MaxResults }} of {{ model.TotalItems }} are shown below.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned {{ model.TotalItems }} results.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned no results.