New scholarship drives passion for Mechanical Engineering

Accessibility links

New scholarship drives passion for Mechanical Engineering


Rogan Anderson

9 August 2012

Rogan Anderson, 18, of Tewantin has received the University of the Sunshine Coast’s first Mechanical Engineering scholarship, valued at $9,000.

The first-year student gratefully accepted the 2012 Weir Minerals Multiflo Scholarship in Engineering from Weir Minerals Multiflo Managing Director Paul Avey at USC’s annual Engineering Awards Ceremony on Monday 6 August.

Rogan, who graduated from Noosa District State High School in 2011 with an OP 10, said the scholarship would make it a lot easier for him to concentrate on his studies.

“It will relieve the pressure of having to pay for things like fuel and travel costs and will help pay for some of the technological equipment I need for certain subjects,” he said.

Weir Minerals Multiflo is a multinational company, which has its Sunshine Coast base at Coolum. It is part of The Weir Group which employs about 14,000 people worldwide in engineering, minerals processing and global mining sectors.

Mr Avey congratulated Rogan on becoming the inaugural recipient of the scholarship, which will be presented to one USC student each year from 2012 to 2014.

“Weir Minerals Multiflo is committed to supporting the local communities we work within,” he said. “We feel privileged to partner with USC on this particular scholarship and consider the University’s engineering program as an excellent foundation for training the engineers of tomorrow.”

Rogan said he jumped at the chance to study Mechanical Engineering at USC when he learnt the University was introducing the four-year degree this year.

“I have always had an interest in cars and motorbikes, so I wanted to study anything involving mechanical systems,” he said. “When I heard USC was offering a Mechanical Engineering degree, I thought it was a great opportunity to study close to home and save some money so I could focus on my degree.”

Rogan’s scholarship was one of eight prizes presented to students at the ceremony.

The other awards went to Civil Engineering students Ryan Vass of Bribie Island (Les and Mary Hall Family Scholarship), Olivia Goatham-Ryan of Peregian Springs (Graham Tamblyn Scholarship), Amy Turco of Mooloolaba and Drew Bignell of Buddina (two GHD Scholarships), Matthew Johnson of Maroochydore (the LEW Mosel Prize), Timothy Burke of Buddina (the Mark and Susan Bradley Prize) and Mallory McManus of Mountain Creek (the Laurie Cowled Women in Engineering Prize).

— Michelle Widdicombe

Back to top

Pro tip: To search, just start typing - at any time, on any page.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned more than {{ model.MaxResults }} results.
The top {{ model.MaxResults }} of {{ model.TotalItems }} are shown below.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned {{ model.TotalItems }} results.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned no results.