Budding young scientists impress at USC awards

Accessibility links

Budding young scientists impress at USC awards


James Nash State High School Year 11 student Shannon Soutter with her project.

14 September 2016

Friction, physics and even rocket flights were put under the microscope at the University of the Sunshine Coast’s recent Science Research Awards.

Dozens of young scientists from Sunshine Coast high schools competed at the event, showing off their poster displays and explaining their research projects to judges, including academics and industry scientists.
Investigations included studies of the physics of somersaults, examinations of medically-backed and anecdotal acne cures, and assessments of vehicle crumple zones.

Kawana Waters State College student Dallas Dawe claimed the competition’s Senior Scientist award for his project, titled ‘Flat Paper Speakers’, detailing a low-cost way to amplify sound.

James Debeyser of St Andrew's Anglican College won first place for Year 12 students for his research of wine oxidation, while Sunshine Beach State High School student Lily Kerley’s investigation into preserving beetroot cell membranes topped the Year 11 category.

Chancellor State College students Daniella Budois and Ioana Oprescu won the Year 10 and Year 7 competitions respectively.
The awards are held annually to provide students with a chance to showcase their research to scientific professionals.

Other award winners were:

Year 7 placegetters: 1 – Ioana Oprescu of Chancellor State College; 2 – Anikin Jones and Cooper Blackburn of James Nash State High School; 3 – Jill Rollings of James Nash State High School.

Year 10 placegetters: 1 – Daniella Bidois of Chancellor State College; 2 – Scarlett Panoho of Chancellor State College; 3 – Krystal Jones of James Nash State High School.

Year 11 placegetters: 1 – Lily Kerley of Sunshine Beach State High School; 2 – Jesse Woods of Glasshouse Christian College; 3 – Daniel Maher of St John’s College; highly commended – Shannon Soutter of James Nash State High School.

Year 12 placegetters: 1 – James Debeyser of St Andrew’s Anglican College; 2 – Jess Bender of Mountain Creek State High School; 3 – Eliza Parker of James Nash State High School; highly commended – Timothy Hughes of Kawana Waters State College.

— Gen Kennedy

Back to top

Pro tip: To search, just start typing - at any time, on any page.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned more than {{ model.MaxResults }} results.
The top {{ model.MaxResults }} of {{ model.TotalItems }} are shown below.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned {{ model.TotalItems }} results.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned no results.