Contact Sustainability Research Centre

Accessibility links

Contact Sustainability Research Centre


General enquiries

Tel: +61 7 5459 4891
Fax: +61 7 5456 5973

USC campus map including the Innovation Centre

Street address

Sustainability Research Centre
Innovation Centre
University of the Sunshine Coast
90 Sippy Downs Drive
Sippy Downs
Queensland  4556

Postal address

Sustainability Research Centre (ML28)
University of the Sunshine Coast
Locked Bag 4

Our people

Associate Directors
  • Associate Professor Wilson Cabral, Adjunct Associate Professor, Water resources management, environmental economics and climate change adaptation
  • Associate Professor David Chittleborough, Adjunct Associate Professor, Soil survey, land evaluation, soil classification, water quality in catchments; soil mineralogy; geochemistry and evolution of soils
  • Dr Maria de Lourdes Melo Zurita, Adjunct Research Fellow, Water governance & climate change adaptation (Former Research Fellow at USC)
  • Mr Brendan Doran, Adjunct Professor, International Relations
  • Dr Pedro Fidelman, Adjunct Senior Fellow, Coastal and marine systems, climate change adaptation, natural resource management (Former Research Fellow at USC)
  • Prof John Fien, Adjunct Professor, Education for Sustainable Development
  • Dr Eva Friman, Adjunct Professor, Ecological economics, SWEDESD, (Uppsala University, Sweden).
  • Dr Takahisa Furuichi, Adjunct Senior Fellows, Geomorphology, hydrology and climatology and socio-economic implications (Former Research Fellow at USC)
  • Prof Bruce Glavovic, Adjunct Professor, Coastal management, hazards, governance and resilience (Massey University)
  • Dr Jeremy Hills, Adjunct Professor, Director, Institute of Marine Resources (The University of the South Pacific)
  • Prof Ken Hughey, Adjunct Professor, Research on Tourism and Climate Change (Department of Environmental Management, Lincoln University)
  • Prof Dale Jamieson, Adjunct Professor, Ethics & environmental philosophy, (New York University, New York).
  • Prof Robert Kay, Adjunct Professor, Climate change vulnerability impacts and adaptation assessment, geomorphology and coastal planning and management (ICF International)
  • Dr Christine King, Adjunct Senior Research Fellow, Community development; individual, group and community resilience; participatory research, development & extension (RD&E); complex learning systems in agriculture, resource management, health and education.
  • Dr David Kronlid, Adjunct Professor, Environmental ethics, ecofeminism, holistic mobility with a focus on its existential, ethical & environmental ethical aspects. Climate change justice, mobility and education for sustainable development (Uppsala University, Sweden).
  • Prof Ken Lyons, Adjunct Professor, Geographic Data (Spatial Information Services, AU)
  • Dr Anna Lyth, Adjunct Senior Research Fellow, Urban sustainability, integrated urban climate change strategy and resilience research (RED Sustainability Consultants).
  • Dr Evanthie Michalena, Adjunct Associate Professor, associate with the ENEC Laboratory, Sorbonne University, France. Expertise in the clean technology sector. Special Adviser in the Regulatory Authority for Energy, Greece. Currently based in Suva, Fiji.

  • Prof Marc Miller, Adjunct Professor, Tourism Planning and Development; Coastal Zone Management; Cultural Anthropology; Natural Resource Management; Ethnographic Methods; Waterfront and Port Planning; Marine Affairs; Marine Parks and Recreation (School of Marine and Environmental Affairs, University of Washington)
  • Associate Prof Melissa Nursey-Bray, Adjunct Senior Research Fellow, Geography; Coastal Management (University of Adelaide)
  • Prof Mark Orams, Adjunct Professor, Coastal and marine recreation and sustainable tourism (Auckland University of Technology)
  • Prof Gary Pickering, Adjunct Professor, Climate change and impacts, climate change adaptation, and climate change psychology, (Brock University, Canada).
  • Prof Ryan Plummer, Adjunct Professor, Resilience; Social Ecological Systems (Director of the Environmental Sustainability Research Centre [ESRC], Brock University, Canada)
  • Dr Stina Powell, Adjunct Associate Professor, Environmental governance and sustainable development (Head of the Division of Environmental Communication, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)
  • Prof Benjamin Preston, Adjunct Professor (Oakridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Associate Prof Anne Roiko, Adjunct Professor, Environmental Health (Griffith University)
  • Dr Lisa Ryan, Adjunct Associate Lecturer (former Associate Lecturer at USC)
  • Prof Noel Scott, Adjunct Professor, Experience design, Technology, Tourism governance, management and marketing (Griffith University).
  • Prof Roy Sidle, Adjunct Professor, environmental science, natural hazards, catchment hydrology, hydrogeomorphic processes (Mountain Societies Research Institute)
  • Dr Erin Smith, Adjunct Research Fellow, Rural geography, regional & environmental change management (Former Research Fellow at USC)
  • Dr Frank Thomalla, Adjunct Associate Professor, hazard, vulnerability and climate change research (University of Sydney)
  • Associate Prof Katherine Warner, Adjunct Associate Professor, Former Regional Senior Expert, Climate Change and Environment
  • Gail Wilkins: Administration Officer – Sustainability Research Centre
Back to top

Pro tip: To search, just start typing - at any time, on any page.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned more than {{ model.MaxResults }} results.
The top {{ model.MaxResults }} of {{ model.TotalItems }} are shown below.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned {{ model.TotalItems }} results.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned no results.