Our membership - University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

Our membership

The SVRPU connects national and international researchers who are committed to establishing knowledge and evidence to understand, prevent and respond to sexual violence and abuse.

Current membership

Core Members

Associate Members

  • Associate Professor Philip Crane, Associate Professor in Social Work, USC. Email: pcrane@usc.edu.au

Adjunct Members

  • Professor Sarah Brown, Adjunct Professor, USC. Email: sbrown2@usc.edu.au
  • Dr Andrea Darling, Durham University, UK. Email: a.j.darling@durham.ac.uk
  • Donald Findlater, Director, Stop it Now! UK and Ireland, The Lucy Faithfull Foundation, UK. Email: donald@donaldfindlater.com 
  • Dr Carlene Firmin, Principal Research Fellow, University of Bedfordshire, UK. Email: Carlene.Firmin@beds.ac.uk
  • Dr Danielle Harris, Deputy Director Research - Griffith Youth Forensic Service, Griffith Criminology Institute, Senior Lecturer - Griffith University. Email: danielle.a.harris@griffith.edu.au 
  • Professor Daryl Higgins, Director, Institute of Child Protection Studies, ACU. Email: daryl.higgins@acu.edu.au
  • Dr Danielle Labhardt, Lecturer, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK. Email: d.labhardt@mmu.ac.uk
  • Associate Professor Sarah McMahon, Rutgers University School of Social Work, USA. Email: smcmahon@ssw.rutgers.edu
  • Dr Emily Moir, Lecturer, Griffith University. Email: e.moir@griffith.edu.au
  • Dr Tess Patterson, Senior Lecturer, Associate Dean (Student Affairs), Clinical Psychologist, University of Otago, NZ.
    Email: tess.patterson@otago.ac.nz
  • Dr Olga Sanchez de Ribera, Postdoctoral Researcher, Universidad de la Republica (UdelaR), Uruguay
    Email: olgasrdc@gmail.com
  • Dr Kelly Richards, Senior Lecturer, QUT.
    Email: k1.richards@qut.edu.au
  • Professor Nick Tilley, Principal Research Associate, Jill Dando Institute, Department of Security and Crime Science, University College London. Email: ntilley@ucl.ac.uk
  • Dr Nico Trajtenberg, Associate Professor, School of Social Sciences, Universidad de la Republica (UdelaR), Uruguay.
    Email: nico.trajtenberg@gmail.com
  • Associate Professor George Tsagaris, School of Social Work, Cleveland State University, USA. Email: g.tsagaris@csuohio.edu
  • Dr Julianne Webster, Research Manager, Queensland Police Service. DrJulianneWebster@gmail.com
  • Professor Richard Wortley, Head, Department of Security & Crime Science, Director, Jill Dando Institute of Security & Crime Science, University College London. Email: r.wortley@ucl.ac.uk

Professional Members

Student Members

As a group, we value respect, integrity, innovation, diversity and perseverance. If this is a team you would like to join as a staff member, external academic, government or non-government professional, student, volunteer or visitor then we are interested in hearing from you.

Become a member

To become an affiliated member of the SVRPU, complete the membership application form on this page.

Core Members: Core members of the SVRPU are 'research active' USC academic staff, directly contributing to the unit's research performance. Core member contributions include: 

  • A minimum of one publication per year relevant to the SVRPU research agenda.


  • External grant funding relevant to the SVRPU research agenda; and / or
  • Supervision of a HDR student undertaking a research relevant to the SVPRU research agenda.

Associate Members:  Associate members of the SVRPU include USC staff making a contribution to the SVRPU but who do not meet the criteria for Core Membership.

Adjunct Members: Adjunct members include external national or international academics, working in this field in collaboration with USC to advance the SVRPU research agenda.

Professional Members: Professional members currently working in relevant industry positions.

Student Members: Students undertaking Honours or Higher Degree Research studies to the SVRPU

SVRPU Membership application

All membership applications will be considered at our monthly leadership meeting.