Current HDR students - University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

Current HDR students

Francisco Gelves Gomez
Francisco Felipe Gelves-Gomez

Thesis title

Vivid natures: Disrupting the human/Nature divide in adaptive co-management for protected areas.

Supervisors

Prof Jennifer Carter, Prof Ruth Beilin (The University of Melbourne) and Dr Shannon Brincat.

Email Francisco.GelvesGomez@research.usc.edu.au

Research summary

Melanie Harris
Melanie Harris

Thesis title

Opportunities for Ecosystem-Based Adaptation (EbA) to Climate Change on Tropical Islands: An example from the Palau Islands, Northwest Pacific Ocean.

Supervisor

Prof Patrick Nunn

Email Melanie.Harris@research.usc.edu.au

Research summary

Miguel Frohlich
Miguel F. Frohlich

Thesis title

Towards adaptive coastal management law: lessons from Australia and Brazil.

Supervisors

Prof Timothy Smith, Prof Claudia Baldwin, Dr Pedro Fidelman, Dr Chris Jacobson and Prof Bill Carter.

Email Miguel.Frohlich@research.usc.edu.au

Research summary

Lisa McIlwain
Lisa McIlwain

Thesis title

What is resilient water governance? Building responsive and responsible resource governance in times of change and adversity.

Supervisors

Prof Claudia Baldwin, Prof Catherine Manathunga, Prof Gary Pickering, and Dr Julia Baird

Email Lisa.McIlwain@research.usc.edu.au

Lorraine Swan
Lorraine Swan

Thesis title

The impacts of climate change on local industry in the Sunshine Coast region.

Supervisors

Prof Helen Fairweather and Prof Claudia Baldwin

Email Lorraine.Swan@research.usc.edu.au

Anna McKinlay

Thesis title

Influences on dwelling size in Australia.

Supervisors

Prof Claudia Baldwin, A/Prof Heather Shearer and Prof Jen Carter

Email Anna.McKinlay@research.usc.edu.au

Jonathan Raikes
Jonathan Raikes

Thesis title

Disaster risk reduction and the Sustainable Development Goals: pre-disaster governance in Canada and Australia.

Supervisors

Prof Tim Smith, Prof Claudia Baldwin & Dr Christine Jacobson

Email Jonathan.Raikes@research.usc.edu.au

Dog sledding in the Arctic
Delia Siivola

Thesis title

Indigenous knowledge in protected areas management: adaptation, sustainability and opportunities in the Circumpolar North.

Supervisors

Dr Christine Jacobson and Prof Jen Carter

Email Dsiivola@usc.edu.au

Pippa Huddleston
Phillippa Huddleston

Thesis title

The practicalities of managed retreat of critical infrastructure and the application of governance tools.

Supervisor

Prof Tim Smith, Prof Iain White, A/Prof Dana Thomsen and Dr Carmen Elrick-Barr

Email pippa.huddleston@research.usc.edu.au

Two young women studying
Justine Grogan

Thesis title

Does prior knowledge matter? Exploring how prior study and informal learning affects the study of compulsory tertiary Indigenous Studies.

Supervisor

Prof Jen Carter

Email Jgrogan@usc.edu.au

Save earth concept

Phyllis Araneo

Thesis title

Developing an exemplary education for sustainable development (esd) course: a multiple case study of first year esd courses in tertiary education.

Supervisors

Dr Marcus Bussey and Dr Richard White

Email Paraneo@usc.edu.au

Mark Bilby

Thesis title

Design an effective dynamic personalised adaptive user interface (PAUI) that automatically adapts to the individual skill levels of users with Down Syndrome.

Supervisor

A/Prof Sandy O'Sullivan

Email MSB008@student.usc.edu.au

Hope O'Chin

Thesis title

The contributions of Aboriginal art and education to the Identity of Australian Civil Society.

Supervisor

Prof Philip Graham & A/Prof Sandy O'Sullivan

Email Hope.OChin@research.usc.edu.au

Jillian Abbott

Thesis title

Immersion Phylogenesis: Using Technology, Transformational Narrative Strategies, and Archetypes, to immerse "Players" in "A Year of Mindful Eating: Stories from the Food I Eat." (YOME)

Supervisor

 A/Prof Sandy O'Sullivan

Email J_A104@student.usc.edu.au

Rose Barrowcliffe

Thesis title

Don't Keep History a Mystery -Using Creative Industries to reveal the hidden stories of the Butchulla people since colonisation through Archival research and documentary film.

Supervisor

A/Prof Sandy O'Sullivan

Email

Rose.Barrowcliffe@research.usc.edu.au

Simon van der Spoel

Thesis title

Vikings: Historical authenticity and the production and consumption of post-modern neo-sagas in contemporary screen culture.

Supervisor

A/Prof Sandy O'Sullivan

Email Simon.VanDerSpoel@research.usc.edu.au

Bethany Kracke

Thesis title

Volcanic geomythology in Java and its relevance as a disaster mitigation tool.

Supervisors

A/Prof Harriot Beazley and Prof Patrick Nunn

Email Bethany.Kracke@research.usc.edu.au

Flooding
Lauchlan Bye

Thesis title

Development of Specialised Technology for use in Predictive Flood Modelling.

Supervisors

Dr Helen Fairweather and Prof Roy Sidle

Email Lauchlan.Bye@research.usc.edu.au

Neda Mardani

Thesis title

Advances in real-time satellite monitoring of flow in rivers and streams.

Supervisors

Dr Helen Fairweather and Prof Roy Sidle

Email Neda.Mardani@research.usc.edu.au

Martyn Eliott

Thesis title

Economic evaluation of prescribed fire as a bushfire risk mitigation tool in Southeast Queensland.

Supervisor

Dr Sanjeev Srivastava

Email Martyn.Eliott@research.usc.edu.au

Daniela Medina Hidalgo

Thesis title

Climate change vulnerability and resilience: an assessment of the potential to achieve food and nutritional security in selected South Pacific countries.

Supervisors

Prof Patrick Nunn and A/Prof Harriot Beazley

Email Daniela.Medina@research.usc.edu.au

Mereia Fong Lomavatu

Thesis title

Post Harvest Diseases of Mango in Fiji.

Supervisor

Prof Steven Underhill

Email Mereia.Lomavatu@research.usc.edu.au

Shalendra Prasad

Thesis title

Pineapple Production in Fiji.

Supervisor

Prof Steven Underhill

Email Shalendra.Prasad@research.usc.edu.au

Tribal member toikot collecting
Traci Sudana

Thesis title

Becoming a medicine man: an ethnography of growing up in post-reformasi Indonesia.

Supervisors

A/Prof Harriot Beazley and Prof Bill Carter

Email tsudana@usc.edu.au

David Shirley

Thesis title

Fostering Innovation for Sustainable Community Development: Aligning societal and technological initiatives in Papua.

Supervisors

Prof Rodney Carter and A/Prof Harriot Beazley

Email DAS028@student.usc.edu.au

Luke Verstraten

Thesis title

Performance and boundary conditions of roof drainage systems with box gutters.

Supervisors

Dr Graham Ashford and Dr Helen Fairweather

Email lkv001@student.usc.edu.au

Pornsiri (Fa) Cheevapattananuwong

Thesis title

A positive transition for local people in an area of rapid economic development: a case study of Bangpakong River, Chachoengsao province, Thailand.

Supervisor

Prof Claudia Baldwin

Email Pornsiri.Chee@research.usc.edu.au

Kimberly Camrass
Kimberly Camrass

Thesis title

Regenerative Future: an alternative approach to collective planning and decision-making for sustainable high-density residential communities

Supervisors

Dr Marcus Bussey and Prof Tim Smith

Email Kimberly.Crawford@research.usc.edu.au

Ebifie Dambo

Thesis title

A study of educational resilience amongst African refugees in South East Queensland.

Supervisor

Dr Marcus Bussey

Email HED004@student.usc.edu.ua

Leigh Franks

Thesis title

Precise age determination of Indigenous Australian stories: examples of maar lake formation in Queensland.

Supervisor

Prof Patrick Nunn

Email Leigh.Franks@research.usc.edu.au

Kerrie Pickering

Thesis title

Wellbeing and connection to nature across two indigenous cultures.

Supervisors

Dr Tristan Pearce and Prof Tim Smith

Email Kerrie.Pickering@research.usc.edu.au

Marguerite Westacott

Thesis title

Curriculum for uncertainty: How can fear less curriculum be developed to meet the agency needs of the future?

Supervisor

Dr Marcus Bussey

Email mwestaco@usc.edu.au

Solar power supply
Keeley Hartzer

Thesis title

The Development of a Scheme for Sustainable Communities Based on a Renewable Energy Relay System in Queensland.

Supervisor

Dr Graham Ashford

Email KFH002@student.usc.edu.au

Earth boy South Pacific
Christopher Evans

Thesis title

Patterns of Migration in the South Pacific.

Supervisors

Prof Patrick Nunn & A/Prof Harriot Beazley

Email CME015@student.usc.edu.au

Ann Robertson
Ann Robertson

Thesis title

Personal futures and alternative healing therapies - values and agency at work in a Queensland regional community.

Supervisor

Dr Marcus Bussey and Dr Trudy Flynn

Email Ann.Robertson@research.usc.edu.au

Roses, pocket watch and old key
William Douglas

Thesis title

The poor love principle: mythic metanarrative in transrealist futures fiction.

Supervisors

Dr Marcus Bussey and Dr Ginna Brock

Email wjd001@student.usc.edu.au

Sarah Windred

Thesis title

Two sides of the story: The experiences and perspectives of child domestic workers and their employers in Bandung, Indonesia.

Supervisors

Dr Harriot Beazley, Prof Claudia Baldwin and Dr Richard Curtis

Email Sarah.Windred@research.usc.edu.au

Liubov Skavronskaya
Liubov Skavronskaya

Thesis title

The role of novelty and surprise in memorable tourism experiences.

Supervisors

A/Prof Brent Moyle and Dr Vikki Schaffer

Email Liubov.Skavronskaya@research.usc.edu.au

 

Angela Mallette

Thesis title

Catalysing change in approaches to climate change adaptation through concrete leverage points.

Supervisor

Prof Tim Smith, A/Prof Dana Thomsen, Prof Ryan Plummer, Dr Carmen Elrick-Barr

Email am16po@brocku.ca

Wong Siew Te and Sarah Pye
Sarah Pye

Thesis title

Saving Sun Bears: Exploring the life of Dr Wong Siew Te.

Supervisors

Dr Paul Williams and Professor Patrick Nunn

Email Sarah.Pye@research.usc.edu.au

 

Back view of couple in London on the River Thames
Ellie Falatoonitoosi

Thesis title

Assessment of sustainability effects on a tourism destination through development of a comprehensive indicators system.

Supervisors

Prof Willem Selen, A/Prof Don Kerr and Dr Vikki Schaffer

Email Elham.Falatoonitoosi@research.usc.edu.au

Madeleine Page

Thesis title

Local knowledge, communities and disaster management - a case study in South East Queensland.

Supervisors

Prof Jen Carter and Prof Patrick Nunn

Email Madeleine.Page@research.usc.edu.au