USC Sports Awards

Accessibility links

USC Sports Awards


The USC Sports Awards are an annual event held by the University to recognise the sporting achievements of its students.


Sportsperson of the Year

University student considered to have produced the best results in their sporting arena as determined by the Sports Awards Committee.

2016 recipient
  • Kyle Bridgwood - Cycling
Previous recipients
  • 2015 - Kyle Bridgwood (Cycling)
  • 2014 - Blake Cochrane (Swimming)
  • 2013 - Blake Cochrane (Swimming)
  • 2012 - Tessa Wallace (Swimming)
  • 2011 - Andy Yates (Kite-boarding)
  • 2010 - Brodie Gardner (Triathlon)
  • 2009 - Chloe Turner (Triathlon)
Team of the Year

This award goes to a team that has shown outstanding achievement on and off the field. The team that has produced the best results without bringing any disrepute to the University. The team has possessed a high level of sportsmanship and team spirit at all times.

2016 recipients
  • Womens Volleyball - Cecilia Webbe, Bronwyn Oberholzer, Maike Bertram, Kiana Schimak, Angela Johnson, Chloe Wolski, Calista Theron.
Full Blue
  • Has previously received a Half Blue and has reproduced or bettered their results of the previous year; or
  • Produced outstanding results at an international sporting competition (discretion of the selection committee); or
  • Competed at a World Championships as part of a National Sporting Team, (the Committee will evaluate the application according to the relative strength of the championship); or
  • Competed at Olympic or Commonwealth Games.
2016 recipients
  • Annelise Jefferies - Duathlon
  • Klade Hauschildt - Sailing
  • Taylor McKeown - Swimming
  • Braedan Jason - Swimming
  • Chelsea Gubecka - Swimming
  • Leah Neale - Swimming
  • Angela Johnson - Volleyball
Half Blue

A Half Blue award will be awarded to students who have made a minimum level of Green and Gold honours at an AUG, or national representation in a sport not available at AUS events.

2016 recipients
  • Jessica Schmidt - Waterskiing
  • Emma Sykes - Rugby 7's
  • Sophie McCulloch - Surfing
  • Chloe Grabs - Archery
  • Chloe Wolski - Volleyball
  • Cecilia Webbe - Volleyball
  • Maike Bertram - Volleyball
Continued Excellence

Has previously received a Full Blue Award and has reproduced or bettered their results of the previous year.

2016 recipients
  • Blake Cochrane - Swimming
  • Jacob Templeton - Swimming
  • Cameron Taylor - Taekwondo
  • Michael Anderson - Swimming
  • Kyle Bridgwood - Cycling
  • Chelsea Gillett - Surf Lifesaving
  • Jake Packard - Swimming
Green Award

This award goes to a student who has shown outstanding team spirit, leadership and contribution to sport either through a volunteer or manager position. Recipient has contributed to the success of USC Sport.

2016 recipients
  • Yoel Jogiono - Futsal
Back to top

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned more than {{ model.MaxResults }} results.
The top {{ model.MaxResults }} of {{ model.TotalItems }} are shown below.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned {{ model.TotalItems }} results.

Searching {{ model.SearchType }} for returned no results.