Sunshine Coast Daily Kathleen McArthur Memorial Scholarship | UniSC | University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

Sunshine Coast Daily Kathleen McArthur Memorial Scholarship

Applications are now closed.

School leavers who are commencing full-time study in the Bachelor of Communication, majoring or minoring in Journalism, with an interest in the environment 

The Sunshine Coast Daily Kathleen McArthur Memorial Scholarship was first established in 2003.

This scholarship is to honour the memory of Kathleen McArthur, conservationist, author, educator, activist and a founder of the Wildlife Preservation Society of Queensland in 1962.

Kathleen McArthur worked hard to preserve the area now known as Cooloola National Park. She was named the Sunshine Coast Daily Citizen of the Century in 2002.

The intent of this scholarship is to encourage and support a student with an active interest in the environment.

The scholarship is paid in instalments in Semester 1 of each year (A$1,500 in first year; A$1,000 in second and third year). Scholarship payments will be made approximately three weeks after Census Date of the relevant Semester, once enrolment has been confirmed.

Please Note:  This scholarship or bursary is offered on a yearly basis through funds provided by an external donor. If funding is not available in any given year, the scholarship or bursary will not be awarded.

Previous recipients

2003 — Holli-Renee Halvorsen, Caloundra State High School

2004 — Peter Yates, Immanuel Lutheran College

2005 — Floyd McBain, Burnside State High School

2006 — Sarah Simpson, St John’s College

2007 — Charma Minter, Burnside State High School

2008 — Amy Strauss, Kawana Waters State College

2009 — Emma Murphy, Coolum State High School

2010 — Elly Anderson, Maroochydore State High School

2011 — Tori Taylor, Urangan State High School

2012 — Delia Evans, Nambour State High School

2013 — Jessica Rynne, Murgon State High School

2014 — Emily Hick, Unity College, Caloundra

2015 — Jasmin Petersen, Maroochydore State High School

2016 — Clare Shaw, Unity College, Caloundra

2017 — Jessica Hickey, St John's College Nambour

2018 — April Sweet, Caloundra State High School

2019 — Alannah Carroll, Caloundra State High School

2020 — Eboni Sydes, Unity College, Caloundra 

2021 — Montanna Adamko, Sunshine Beach State High School

2022 — Sienna Bell, Chancellor State College

2023 — Thomas Punt, Kawana Waters State College

  • commencing full-time in the Bachelor of Communication, majoring or minoring in Journalism
  • graduating from a high school in Sunshine Coast or Noosa Council local government areas
  • Permanent Resident of Australia, Australian citizen, New Zealand citizen or Permanent Australian Humanitarian Visa holder
Selection criteria
  • high academic achievement
  • demonstrated interest in and commitment to the environment
  • financial need
  • demonstrated interest in journalism and stated commitment to participate in work placement activities and other opportunities presented by the Sunshine Coast Daily*

*Subject to meeting the requirements of Sunshine Coast Daily, mentoring and work placement opportunities may be negotiated on mutually agreeable terms directly between the recipient and Sunshine Coast Daily.

Eligible programs
Bachelor of Communication (Journalism)
Number available