UniSC Sports Awards | UniSC | University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

UniSC Sports Awards

The UniSC Sports Awards are an annual event held by the University to celebrate the sporting achievements of its students.

Congratulations to our 2023 Award winners!

2024 UniSC Sports Awards Details TBC

Sportsperson of the Year

The university’s highest sporting accolade is awarded to the USC student considered to have produced the best result/s in their sporting arena as determined by the Sport Awards Committee. The winner has not only achieved success in their chosen sport, but they are also someone of good character who displays sportsmanship on and off the field.

2023 recipient
  • Emily Beecroft - Swimming
Previous recipients
  • 2022 - Emily Beecroft - (Swimming)
  • 2021 - Katja Dedekind - (Swimming)
  • 2020 - Brianna Orams (Stand Up Paddling)
  • 2019 - Hayley Maddick (Touch Football)
  • 2018 - Jake Packard (Swimming)
  • 2017 - Jordan Mercer (Paddleboarding)
  • 2016 - Kyle Bridgwood (Cycling)
  • 2015 - Kyle Bridgwood (Cycling)
  • 2014 - Blake Cochrane (Swimming)
  • 2013 - Blake Cochrane (Swimming)
  • 2012 - Tessa Wallace (Swimming)
  • 2011 - Andy Yates (Kite-boarding)
  • 2010 - Brodie Gardner (Triathlon)
  • 2009 - Chloe Turner (Triathlon)
Vice Chancellor's Sporting and Academic Excellence

This award celebrates student athletes who excel in their chosen sport whilst maintaining a high academic level.

2023 recipient
Previous recipients
Team of the Year

Awarded to a team that has shown outstanding achievement both on and off the field. The team possesses a high level of sportsmanship and team spirit at all times and had the best results at UniSport 2023 Nationals Division 1 and/or Division 2.

2023 recipient

The UniSC Rugby League 9s Team

Andrew Bundgaard, Angus McDOnald, Bodie Torr, Clancy Biggar, Daniel Emil Risholt, Ethan Duck, Harry Daniel, Isaac Jones, Kea Stevenson, Lewis Ottaway, Malebo Jobson, Matthew O’Donnell, Michael MacDoanld, Ned Pitkin, Soan Amir, Will Goodman.

Outstanding Service to Sport Award
  • Recognises a student or non-student who has shown outstanding service, team spirit, leadership and contribution to sport either through a volunteer or manager position; or
  • Recognises a person who was deemed by the Sports Awards Committee to have displayed exemplary skill and sportsmanship at UniSport Nationals Div1 and/or Div2.
2023 recipients
  • Jordan Jackson, Touch Football
  • Laura Langman, Netball
  • Zoe Lewis, Netball
Team Spirit of the Year

Awarded to a team who has contributed positively to the promotion and development of sport at UniSC, whilst displaying pride in representing their sport or club.

2023 recipient

The UniSC Surfing Team

  • Aari Rondo
  • Isabella Caldow
  • Jack Toohey
  • Lachlan Feeley
  • Noah Andrew
Half Blue

This performance-based award recognises those with outstanding sporting performance.

  • Success at an open national level, or
  • Success at a youth international level or selection on a youth national squad or similar, including Youth Olympics, Youth Commonwealth Games or Age World Championships, and
  • Displays good sportsmanship in and out of competition
2023 recipients
  • Amelita Case, Athletics
  • Catalina Stylinaou, Football Referee
  • Charlie Bell, Netball
  • Isabella Caldow, Surfing
  • Jack Bostock, Rugby League
  • Nick Hind, Underwater Hockey
  • Oliver Merrit, Volleyball
  • Ryan Van Der Riet, Swimming
  • Taj Marsh, Weightlifting
  • Yves Chee, Netball
Full Blue

This performance-based award recognises those with outstanding sporting performance.

  • success at open international level or selection on an open national squad, including Olympic, Commonwealth Games or World Championship representation
  • has reached a standard comparable to Australia’s best sportspeople, and
  • displays good sportsmanship in and out of competition
2023 recipients
  • Bailey Armstrong, Open Water Swimming
  • Casey Wooderson, Waterskiing
  • Jessica Oates, Lifesaving
  • Joel Piper, Lifesaving
  • Jorja Richards, Dance
Holly Lubcke - Pro Racing Sunshine Coast
Continued Excellence

Recipients have previously received a full Blue Award and has reproduced or bettered their results from previous awards.

2023 recipients
  • Emily Beecroft, Swimming
  • Kyah Heagney, Roller Hockey
  • William Thorley, Open Water Swimming
  • Alexandra Clarke, Kayaking