Touch champion claims University's top sports award | UniSC | University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

Accessibility links

Touch champion claims University's top sports award

Australian touch representative and Dally M medallist for the NRL’s national touch competition Hayley Maddick has been named USC’s Sportsperson of the Year for 2019.

The Brisbane Broncos player, who is studying a dual degree in Education and Recreation and Outdoor Environmental Studies, received her trophy from USC’s Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students) Professor Denise Wood at the University’s Sports Awards ceremony last night.

Maddick’s 2019 season saw her pick up four Player of the Match Awards on her way to being named the NRL Touch Player of the Year 2019. Her team finished as competition premiers.

She also was part of the winning Queensland State of Origin touch team, and was selected for the Australian Touch Football Team that was undefeated as it claimed a gold medal at the recent World Cup.

Maddick had the honour of being named World Cup player of the final. Her Sportsperson of the Year award was sponsored by UniBank and included a $750 cash prize.

A new USC prize, the Vice-Chancellor’s Sporting and Academic Excellence Award went to Lightning netballer and Master of Education student Jacqui Russell, who celebrated a minor premiership and a national grand final with her club.

Russell also managed to achieve a perfect Grade Point Average of 7 for her studies.

Last night’s ceremony also featured a presentation by champion long-distance swimmer and USC graduate Kareena Lee, 25, who will represent Australia in the 10km open water swim at the Tokyo Games next year.

Kareena Lee was also among four USC students to receive Continued Excellence Awards, along with fellow swimmers Blake Cochrane, Braedan Jason and Leah Neale.

Nine USC students received Full Blue awards for ongoing outstanding achievement. They were Campbell Guthrie (surf lifesaving and paddleboarding), Hayley Maddick (touch football), Kaia Parnaby (softball), Kaylee McKeown (swimming), Lana Rogers (surf lifesaving), Louie Beatty (taekwondo), Peace Proscovia (netball), Renae Saunders (karate) and Tiarrn Raymond (surf lifesaving).

Half Blue awards for sporting excellence went to Brad Ilott (cricket), Brianna Orams (stand up paddleboarding), Casey Wooderson (water skiing), Dahlas Rogers (swimming), Kobi Thompson (gymnastics), Lucinda Kelly (surf lifesaving and kayaking), Matthew Palmer (surf lifesaving), Matthew Rice (cycling), Samara Christmas (football), Steven Coombes (surf lifesaving) and Tamarind Wildin-Snedden (surf lifesaving).

USC’s Team of the Year award was presented to the swimming team comprising Brooke Monte, Dahlas Rogers, Kaylee McKeown and Tianni Gilmour. And Outstanding Service to Sport awards were presented to Ian Bishop (netball), Jayden Lowrie (volleyball) and Joe Dodd (basketball).

— Terry Walsh
Australian touch player Hayley Maddick is USC's 2019 Sportsperson of the Year
Show all news  Filter news 

Search results for Recent

Media enquiries: Please contact the Media Team